SuperPower Wins a U.S. DOE Award

The DOE’s INFUSE (Innovation Network for Fusion Energy) Program was established in 2019. The program is sponsored by the Fusion Energy Sciences (FES) program office within DOE’s Office of Science and is focused on accelerating fusion energy development through public-private research partnerships. The project that SuperPower is awarded is entitled “Performance-structure characterization to improve REBCO Fusion conductor production at SuperPower”. With its well-developed testing and characterization capabilities, FSU/NHMFL will assist SuperPower to address critical scientific and technological challenges in the REBCO superconducting wire production for fusion. The collaboration between SuperPower and FSU/NHMFL under this project will reinforce the long-time relationship between the two organizations. The official DOE announcement can be found here. A list of all the projects with abstracts can be found here.

REBCO based HTS wires are considered as an enabling material in the technologies needed to realize fusion reaction in a compact reactor for power generation. SuperPower is taking steady steps to meet the requirements in performance and quality and the rapidly increasing demand in volume for this material for the fusion technology development. In 2020, SuperPower successfully completed its relocation to a brand-new manufacturing facility. In 2021, SuperPower added a new REBCO formula in its product lineup. The newly developed HM formula is optimized for further improved in-field performance at lower temperatures, including at 4.2 K and 20 K.


About SuperPower

SuperPower Inc. is a leading manufacturer and developer of second-generation high-temperature superconducting (2G-HTS) wires. It is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Furukawa Electric Co. Ltd. of Japan. For the past more than 20 years, SuperPower provided, and contributed to, many solutions to various advanced applications and projects for our customers.

About NHMFL (National High Magnetic Field Laboratory)

NHMFL is an institution jointly operated for the U.S. National Science Foundation by Florida State University, the University of Florida and Los Alamos National Laboratory (with sites at each of those locations) under a cooperative agreement that establishes the lab's goals and objectives.